View Article View Article

Trentin Rounds Out The Top Ten on Final Stage at Volta a la Comunitat Valenciana

A four-rider breakaway was able to go clear at the start of the stage but, with a bunch sprint almost guaranteed at the end of the 98-kilometer race, the peloton kept a close eye on the leaders, never allowing their advantage to extend beyond one minute. 

With the race forgoing the traditional laps around Valencia city center this year, the peloton was at full speed as it approached the 10-kilometer to go mark and shortly after, the breakaway was swept up. 

CCC Team moved up to the front inside the final five kilometers with Nathan Van Hooydonck leading the peloton as the team worked hard to try to position Trentin for the chaotic final sprint that eventually saw the Italian race to tenth place on the line behind the winner, Fabio Jakobsen (Deceuninck – Quick-Step).

After some strong team performances across all five stages, including three top ten results from Trentin and Greg Van Avermaet, CCC Team finished second in the Team Classification behind Bahrain – McLaren. 

Quotes From the Finish Line

Matteo Trentin: 

“I think it was another good shot from us today. I had Nathan and Greg with me until the last kilometer but I was boxed in by a few riders and in the end, I came out of the stage in tenth place. It’s not what I was looking for but it is what it is.”

“I’m happy with how this first race went for me and the team, we put a lot of good racing kilometers in the legs and there were a couple of really hard days so it all together it was a great build-up to the next races. Of course, I was expecting more in terms of results but, I will continue to hard and build upon this for the upcoming races

Race Profile

Volta a la Comunitat Valenciana 

Stage 5: Paterna  > Valenciana (98km)

Top 3: 1. Fabio Jakobsen (Deceuninck – Quick-Step) 2. Dylan Groenewegen (Team  Jumbo-Visma) 3. John Degenkolb (Lotto Soudal)

CCC Team Top 3: 10. Matteo Trentin 43. Greg Van Avermaet 53. Víctor de la Parte 

Top 3 on GC: 1. Tadej Pogačar (UAE-Team Emirates) 2. Jack Haig (Mitchelton-SCOTT) 3. Tao Geoghegan Hart (Team Ineos)

CCC Team Top 3 on GC: 17. Víctor de la Parte 20. Greg Van Avermaet 21. Serge Pauwels

Related articles