View Article View Article

Tour de France Stage 14: Geschke on the Attack Early Before GC Showdown

Geschke was sitting at the front of the peloton when the flag dropped and was quick to attack but, with plenty of other teams and riders looking to try their luck, it was an intense battle.

A large 17-rider breakaway eventually formed but the group’s time in front was limited with the General Classification battle heating up on the slopes of the category one Col du Soulor before intensifying further on the final 19-kilometer long climb.

Joey Rosskopf, Michael Schär, Serge Pauwels and Greg Van Avermaet were first across the line for CCC Team, after losing contact when the fight for yellow began, finishing in a group 20 minutes behind Thibaut Pinot (Groupama – FDJ) who took the win from a select group of riders, all of whom have their eyes on the final prize.

Quotes From the Finish Line

Simon Geschke:

“The day was not perfect for a breakaway because it was a mountain-top finish and you never know what the GC teams are going to do but, I definitely wanted to try. I was not really in the move but I tried to bridge across, however, pretty early on, it was clear that the GC teams, especially Groupama – FDJ and Deceuninck – Quick-Step wanted to close it, and they did. They started controlling the race very early and reeled me back in before later also pulling the breakaway back. We were there at the beginning of the race today and, hopefully, there will be another day with a bigger chance for the team and me.”

“I tried to hang on over the first climb but the pace was too high so, I took it easy for the rest of the day thinking about tomorrow. My legs were actually really good which gives me confidence because on the first two days of the second week, I didn’t feel so good and it was tough mentally but yesterday and today I felt much better. It would be nice to go in the breakaway tomorrow and finally race in the Tour and do what I came here to do.”

Race Profile

Tour de France

Stage 14: Tarbes > Tourmalet Barèges (117.5km)

Top 3: 1. Thibaut Pinot (Groupama – FDJ) 2. Julian Alaphilippe (Deceuninck – Quick-Step) 3. Steven Kruijswijk (Team Jumbo – Visma)

CCC Team Top 3: 77. Joey Rosskopf 79. Michael Schär 82. Serge Pauwels

Related articles