View Article View Article

Paris – Nice Stage Two: Another Challenging Day in the Wind for CCC Team

An action-packed start to the day saw Alessandro De Marchi looking strong when he went on the attack as part of an early three-rider breakaway only to be pulled back by the first part of the peloton when echelons formed after less than 40 kilometers, of the 165.5-kilometer course.

The various splits in the field did not last long and ten kilometers later, on the second of the day’s two category three climbs, the Côte des Granges-le-Roi, the peloton was back together.

However, the race continued to follow this pattern with various groups splitting in the crosswinds and then coming back together for most of the stage and, with 50 kilometers to go, two distinct groups sat around one minute apart.

Further splits, caused by a combination of the fast pace being set and the intense wind, saw the road littered with echelons and in these harsh conditions, CCC Team lost contact with the first two groups that eventually came back together before battling for the day’s honors.

In the end, it was race leader Dylan Groenewegen (Team Jumbo-Visma) who took the win for a second consecutive day while Laurens Ten Dam and Francisco Ventoso were CCC Team’s first riders across the line in a group around six minutes back.

Quotes From the Finish Line

Alessandro De Marchi:

“The plan was to try to go in the breakaway and use the day as an opportunity to be active in the race and get a feel for the race. I tried but, in these conditions, it was going to be really difficult to stay away for the whole day. With just three riders, it was impossible to fight against the bunch that was also fighting for position in the wind. If the bunch had sat up, we might have been able to gain some time and then with the tailwind in the last section, you never know what could have happened but I wasn’t surprised that we only stayed away for 20 kilometers. But for me, it was what I needed to do.”

Race Profile

Paris – Nice

Stage 2: Les Bréviaires > Bellegarde (163.5km)

Top 3: 1. Dylan Groenewegen (Team Jumbo-beVisma) 2. Ivan Garcia (Bahrain-Merida Pro Cycling Team) 3. Philippe Gilbert (Deceuninck – Quick-Step)

CCC Team Top 3: 82. Francisco Ventoso 85. Laurens Ten Dam 111. Amaro Antunes

Related articles