View Article View Article

Itzulia Basque Country Opens with Challenging Individual Time Trial

The profile of the 11.2-kilometer time trial was deceiving at first glance with the day’s main difficulty, a short climb roughly halfway through the course, featuring brutal gradients of over 20 percent in places.

The earlier rain was starting to ease off when De Marchi rolled off the ramp, chasing the early benchmark of 17’34”, and the Italian rider initially moved into seventh place on the provisional leaderboard after crossing the line in 17’58”.

De la Parte and Bevin, racing for the first time in his Silver Fern skinsuit as New Zealand national time trial champion, also put in solid performances on the course that lent itself to both time trial specialists and General Classification riders alike.

In the end, De Marchi was CCC Team’s best-placed rider, finishing just outside the top 20 48 seconds behind Schachmann while de la Parte and Bevin also finished less than a minute back with times comparable to many of the General Classification contenders.

Quotes From the Finish Line

Alessandro De Marchi:

“I came into Itzulia Basque Country with the goal of taking any chances I could find on the road. Today was one of those chances. In the end, my feelings were really good, and that is the most important thing but, overall I’m not really happy with the result. I was hoping to be a bit further up the leaderboard. The climb was hard but that was the part where I was feeling the best. The downhill was also a bit tricky and that is maybe where I left too many seconds on the ground.”

Víctor de la Parte:

“I feel like I had really good legs today and overall, I think when you look at the results, my time was not bad. We will see how the race goes over the next few days but I hope to arrive in the mountains with the same feelings as I had today.”

Race Profile

Itzulia Basque Country

Stage one / ITT: Zumarraga > Zumarraga (11.2km)

Top 3: 1 Maximilian Schachmann (BORA-hansgrohe) 2. Daniel Martínez (EF Education First Pro Cycling) 3. Michał Kwiatkowski (Team Sky)

CCC Team Top 3: 23. Alessandro De Marchi 28. Víctor de la Parte 32. Patrick Bevin

Related articles