View Article View Article

Critérium du Dauphiné Stage Eight: De Marchi Wraps Up the Race With Another Breakaway

The final stage of the Critérium du Dauphiné was held on mountainous terrain and with the fight for the General Classification still open, many teams tried to send their rider in the break.

CCC Team was also eager to showcase its colors at the front and that aggressive style of racing paid off as De Marchi was able to pull away for the fourth time at the eight-day stage race, riding as part of a 13-man move which established an advantage of over four minutes with 40 kilometers remaining.

On the penultimate climb of the day, the category one Côte des Rives, the riders started launching attacks off the front of the breakaway and although De Marchi was initially able to cover them all, his previous efforts caught up with him and, after losing contact with the front of the race, he was caught by the shattered peloton with 14 kilometers to go.

The Italian rider was able to maintain his own steady pace and was eventually CCC Team’s top finisher in Champery, behind stage winner, Dylan Van Baarle (Team INEOS).

Jakob Fuglsang (Astana) claimed the overall victory, while Joey Rosskopf who was unfortunately dropped from the yellow jersey group on the descent of the penultimate climb after a mechanical, finished the race in 25th place for CCC Team.

Quotes from the Finish Line:

Alessandro De Marchi

“I came to the Critérium du Dauphiné with the goal of fine-tuning my shape and that’s what I did. Today was the last chance to go into a breakaway and I took it. Unfortunately, in the end, I didn’t have the legs to follow the moves at the decisive moment. It’s a pity that I couldn’t go with the two guys who eventually made it to the finish but, the previous three breakaways took their toll on me today and maybe the other guys were also a little fresher than me but, I don’t want to make excuses. Overall, it was a very good build-up race and I’m pretty confident coming into July.”

Race profile

Critérium du Dauphiné

Stage 8: Cluses > Champéry (113.5km)

Top 3: 1. Dylan Van Baarle (Team INEOS) 2. Jack Haig (Mitchelton-Scott) 3. Carl Fredrik Hansen (Lotto-Soudal)

CCC Team Top 3: 25. Alessandro De Marchi 33. Serge Pauwels 35. Joey Rosskopf

Top 3 on GC: 1. Jakob Fuglsang (Astana) 2 Tejay Van Garderen (EF Education First) 3. Emanuel Buchmann. (BORA – hansgrohe)

CCC Team Top 3 on GC: 25. Joey Rosskopf 37. Serge Pauwels 38. Alessandro De Marchi

Related articles