View Article View Article

Van Avermaet set to lead CCC Team at Liège-Bastogne-Liège

Sports Director Valerio Piva said that Van Avermaet will be joined on the start line by a strong group of riders, most of whom are coming out of La Flèche Wallonne.

“Liège-Bastogne-Liège is a good race for Greg to start this block of Classics and we know that every year after the Tour de France he is very motivated and in strong shape so, we will line up with him as our leader. Last year, Greg was here and was in a really good position, making it into the final selection but he had some bad luck with a late crash so I hope he will be strong again on Sunday and we can try to race for the best result possible. We will have a good team to support Greg with the majority of our La Flèche Wallonne riders including Simon Geschke and Alessandro De Marchi, who both produced good performances, here. Michi Schär also comes in to complete our roster so I think we can be confident for Sunday’s race,” Piva explained.

Liège-Bastogne-Liège will mark the start of the final block of Classics for Van Avermaet.

“We have a super motivated team for Liège-Bastogne-Liège and I am looking forward to starting this final series of one-day Classics. It’s obviously a bit different now because we’re racing here at the end of the year whereas normally Liège is the last Spring Classic in April so, I think we will maybe see a different approach to the race especially as it is now after the Tour de France. However, I still feel like I have good legs and I think I have recovered well after the Tour and the World Championships so, it would be nice to start this block of racing directly with good feelings especially going into the Cobbled Classics next week. This is maybe not the race most suited to me as a rider but it is one that I really like to do and I know the roads well so I think, hopefully, we can make a nice result as a team,” Van Avermaet said.

Liège-Bastogne-Liège (4 October)

Rider Roster: Will Barta (USA), Alessandro De Marchi (ITA), Simon Geschke (GER), Jan Hirt (CZE), Michael Schär (SUI), Greg Van Avermaet (BEL), Georg Zimmermann (GER)

Sports Directors: Valerio Piva (ITA), Piotr Wadecki (POL)

Related articles