View Article View Article

Van Avermaet Named as CCC Team’s Hammer Series Captain

After announcing Alexander Kristoff (UAE Team Emirates), Brenton Jones (Delko Marseille Provence), Cameron Meyer (Mitchelton-SCOTT), Tim Wellens (Lotto Soudal) and Tom Dumoulin (Team Sunweb) last week, the next five Hammer Captains, including Van Avermaet, have been revealed:

Greg van Avermaet | CCC Team

Sam Bennett | BORA – hansgrohe

Timo Roosen | Jumbo-Visma

Owain Doull | Team Sky

Krister Hagen | Riwal Readynez


Greg Van Avermaet on the announcement:

“I’m excited to be the Hammer Captain for CCC Team. I had my first taste of the Hammer Series last year and it was really hard, explosive racing. This year, we’re going to give it everything we have and take it to the other teams. You need to have a diverse roster that can cover the three different types of races and I’m looking forward to leading the team. I hope all of our fans cheer us on from the sidelines and from at home and see us crowned the winners of the Hammer Series!”

The first Hammer event in 2019 takes place in Stavanger from May 24-26, while the next one follows in Limburg from June 7-9. Hong Kong hosts the final event from October 12-13. All races will be available to watch online worldwide.

The final captains will be revealed next week.

Photos courtesy of Cor Vos / Chris Auld Photography

Related articles